Key Stage 2

Key Stage 2 is the legal term for the four years of schooling I maintained schools I England and Wales normally knows as Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6. All the children I this stage must follow a programme of education in the same statutory areas set out on the National Curriculum website in at least 11 areas.

Our Key Stage 2 curriculum aims to provide a stimulating, happy, friendly environment; to allow organised, structured, and secure learning; to build self-confidence and increase respect o self, others and the environment; to develop children’s natural curiosity an foster a desire to learn; to provide activities that allow skills to be practised a knowledge to be acquired; to create an celebrate success; for children to be self-reliant and self-disciplined; for children t co-operate an form relationships, laying the foundations for success in adult life.

Key Stage 2 tasks and tests cover:
◈ English reading
◈ English grammar, punctuation and spelling
◈ Maths (including mental arithmetic)

As children progress through Key Stage 2, we ensure that the standards achieved by our year 6 students prepare them for the best possible transfer to our secondary school.